EVENTS: UA Colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy and Public Health Celebrate 2001 Convocations

Release Date: 
May 08, 2001

EVENTS: UA Colleges of Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy and Public Health Celebrate 2001 Convocations

DATE: FRIDAY, MAY 11 (see times below)

PLACE: University of Arizona Main Campus and the Arizona Health Sciences Center, Tucson (see locations below)

MEDICAL WRITERS/ASSIGNMENT EDITORS NOTE: Media are welcome to cover these events.

May 9, 2001
Contact: Jean Spinelli or George Humphrey, (520) 626-7301

UA College of Pharmacy Convocation
9:30 - 11 a.m.
Centennial Hall, University of Arizona Main Campus

* Various awards will be presented and College of Pharmacy graduates will be hooded.

UA College of Public Health Convocation
2 p.m.
DuVal Auditorium, University Medical Center, 1501 N. Campbell Ave.

William H. Foege, M.D., MPH, former director of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, is the keynote speaker for the third convocation of the UA College of Public Health. He currently is Presidential Distinguished Professor in the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University. An epidemiologist, he worked in the successful campaign to eradicate smallpox in the 1970s. His interests include child survival and development, injury prevention, population, preventive medicine, and public health leadership, particularly in the developing world. He is a strong proponent of disease eradication and control, and has taken an active role in the eradication of Guinea worm, polio and measles, and the elimination of River Blindness. He has succeeded in broadening public awareness of these issues and bringing them to the forefront of domestic and international health policies. Dr. Foege's address is titled, "Contradicting Nature's Laws." Omar Passons, MPH, a May 2000 graduate of the Arizona Graduate Program in Public Health, will be alumni speaker. The convocation is for all May and August 2001 graduates of the Health Education Program, the Arizona Graduate Program in Public Health, and the Epidemiology Graduate Interdisciplinary Program. Seventy-nine UA College of Public Health graduates will receive bachelor of science degrees, master of public health or master of science degrees. A reception immediately follows in Kiewit Auditorium, Arizona Cancer Center. * Established on Jan. 20, 2000, by the Arizona Board of Regents, the UA College of Public Health is the first in the Southwestern United States.

UA College of Nursing Convocation
2 p.m.

Centennial Hall, the University of Arizona Main Campus

College of Nursing graduates will receive baccalaureate, master's, post-master's and doctorate degrees in nursing. Various awards will be presented.

UA College of Medicine Convocation
8 p.m.
Centennial Hall, University of Arizona Main Campus

Rachel Naomi Remen, M.D., is the keynote speaker for the Class of 2001 convocation. Dr. Remen is clinical professor of family and community medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine, and director of the UCSF course, "The Healer's Art." She is co-founder and medical director of the Commonweal Cancer Help Program, featured in the Bill Moyers PBS series, "Healing and the Mind." She is founder and director of the Institute for the Study of Health and Illness, a professional development program for graduate physicians who wish to integrate Hippocratic values into their work and develop a greater personal capacity for empathy, compassion, understanding and communication. Dr. Remen has a 45-year personal history of Crohn's disease and her work is a unique blend of the viewpoint of physician and patient. She is the author of the New York Times bestseller, Kitchen Table Wisdom: Stories that Heal, and her new book on service, My Grandfather's Blessings: Stories of Strength, Refuge and Belonging. Dr. Remen's address is titled, "Living A Life of Service."

Gary Stuart, J.D., assistant secretary, Arizona Board of Regents, also will attend the convocation.

The Class of 2001 will present seven awards to UA College of Medicine staff and faculty. In addition, the Alumni Association will present three awards: the Extraordinary Faculty Award to M. Paul Capp, M.D., professor emeritus, Department of Radiology, and the Leo B. Hart Humanitarian Award to Augusto Ortiz, M.D., professor, family and community medicine, UA College of Medicine, and to Suzanne A. Sisley, M.D., UA College of Medicine Class of 1995, a physician serving as clinical faculty at St. Joseph's Hospital and Medical Center, MercyCare Adult Medicine Clinic, Phoenix.

EDITORS/REPORTERS NOTE: At about 8:45 p.m., the graduating students will recite the Hippocratic Oath. The students will be led by William J. Adamás-Rappaport, M.D.