• Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham University students can participate in a joint graduate degree program featuring coursework in Cellular & Molecular Medicine from UArizona—entirely in India.

  • College of Medicine iCourses provide flexible, stackable learning opportunities for pre-professional students.

  • Dr. Donata Vercelli — Awarded $15.3M P01 grant from the NIH NIAID to study the impact of microbial exposures on the immune responses and childhood asthma across the US/Mexico border.

  • The Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine at the University of Arizona is home to leaders in many areas of biomedical research.


Message from the Chair

The mission of the Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine (CMM) is to provide pre- and post-doctoral, medical and graduate education in an interdisciplinary environment through research activities, to advance knowledge of biological structure as related to function and disease from the molecular level to the whole organism.

Recent Publications

  • Airway administration of OM-85, a bacterial lysate, blocks experimental asthma by targeting dendritic cells and the epithelium/IL-33/ILC2 axis.
    Author(s): V. Pivniouk; J.A. Gimenes-Junior; P. Ezeh; A. Michael; O. Pivniouk; S. Hahn; S.R. VanLinden; S.P. Malone; A. Abidov; D. Anderson; J. Gozdz; A. DeVries; F.D. Martinez; C. Pasquali; D. Vercelli
    Date Published: 2021 Sep 21
    PMID: 34560105
  • Tissue engineering techniques for iPSC derived three-dimensional cardiac constructs.
    Author(s): T. Salem; Z. Frankman; J. Churko
    Date Published: 2021 Sep 03
    PMID: 34476988
  • Antihypertensive drug treatment and susceptibility to SARS-CoV-2 infection in human PSC-derived cardiomyocytes and primary endothelial cells.
    Author(s): J. Iwanski; S.G. Kazmouz; S. Li; B. Stansfield; T.T. Salem; S. Perez-Miller; T. Kazui; L. Jena; J.L. Uhrlaub; S. Lick; J. Nikolich-Žugich; J.P. Konhilas; C.C. Gregorio; M. Khanna; S.K. Campos; J.M. Churko
    Date Published: 2021 Sep 01
    PMCID: PMC8407952  PMID: 34525378
  • MASTL regulates EGFR signaling to impact pancreatic cancer progression.
    Author(s): I. Fatima; S. Barman; J.P. Uppada; S. Chauhan; S. Rauth; S. Rachagani; M.Palanimuth Ponnusamy; L. Smith; G. Talmon; A.B. Singh; S.K. Batra; P. Dhawan
    Date Published: 2021 Sep
    PMID: 34331012
  • Sex-specific genetic regulation of adipose mitochondria and metabolic syndrome by Ndufv2.
    Author(s): K.Chella Krishnan; L. Vergnes; R. Acín-Pérez; L. Stiles; M. Shum; L. Ma; E. Mouisel; C. Pan; T.M. Moore; M. Péterfy; C.E. Romanoski; K. Reue; J.L.M. Björkegren; M. Laakso; M. Liesa; A.J. Lusis
    Date Published: 2021 Oct 25
    PMID: 34697471

Recent News

Carol C. Gregorio, PhD
Dr. Carol Gregorio Elected as American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow.
Jan 26 2022 - 3:45pm

Dr. Carol Gregorio was elected as an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow. AAAS Council elects members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science, or its applications, are scientifically or socially distinguished.” Dr. Gregorio is being honored “For internationally-recognized contributions toward understanding striated muscle structure, function and disease, using advanced imaging and cell biological approaches.”

Dr. Bipin Nair
Dr. Bipin Nair of Amrita University Receives Joint Appointment in CMM
Jan 11 2022 - 1:30pm

Bipin Nair, PhD, has been appointed as an adjunct professor in the Department of Cellular & Molecular Medicine. Dr. Nair is the Dean of Life Sciences in the School of Biotechnology at Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham University. Dr. Nair was instrumental in the creation of the dual degree program and internship program shared by Amrita University and UArizona’s CMM Department. Read more about Dr. Bipin Nair here. Read more about the CMM/Amrita Dual Degree Program here.

Zavros Lab
CMM Internship Program with Amrita University Microcampus Students Featured on UAHS News
Dec 20 2021 - 12:30pm

Click here to read the original article featured on UA Health Sciences News.

Dr. Valerie Schaibley
Dr. Valerie Schaibley Accepted to COM-T Academy of Medical Education Scholars (AMES)
Nov 16 2021 - 1:15pm

Congratulations to Dr. Valerie Schaibley for being recognized as a new AMES member! The mission of the Academy of Medical Education Scholars (AMES) at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson is to create and sustain a diverse community of scholars dedicated to excellence and innovation in medical education. AMES recognizes and supports the most accomplished teachers and educators at UACOM-T and, in return, draw on those faculty members for advice and service to the College’s education programs.

Upcoming Events

CMM Seminar - Jiacheng Ding
Thursday 12:00pm to 1:00pm

CMM Seminar - Masha Marinov
Thursday 12:00pm to 1:00pm

CMM Seminar - Yamil Sanchez-Rosario
Thursday 12:00pm to 1:00pm

CMM Seminar - John Sullivan
Thursday 12:00pm to 1:00pm