Dr. Darnell Receives Two College of Medicine Outstanding Teaching Awards (February 5, 2020)
Feb 05, 2020

Professor Diana Darnell, PhD has received the 2020 College of Medicine Faculty Teaching Award.

Dr. Gregorio Elected as 2020 AACBNC Councilor (January 29, 2020)
Jan 29, 2020

Professor and Department Head Dr. Carol Gregorio was recently elected to the position of Councilor for the Association of Anatomy, Cell Biology, and Neurobiology Chairpersons.

Rogers Lab Publishes Organellogenesis Study in the Journal of Cell Biology (December 17, 2019)
Dec 17, 2019

In a new study of organelle biogenesis from the laboratory of Gregory Rogers, PhD, former CMM student and postdoc Tiffany McLamarrah and colleagues characterize an early step in centriole duplication.

CMM Master's Student Receives 2019 Centennial Achievement Award (December 3, 2019)
Dec 03, 2019

Michelle Ennabe, CMM Master's Student, is one of three Masters Awardees of this year's prestigious Centennial Achievement Award.

Mouneimne Lab Publishes Mechanosensing Study in Journal of Cell Biology (October 14, 2019)
Oct 14, 2019

In this newest study from the laboratory of Gus Mouneimne, PhD, Julieann Puleo and colleagues discovered that EVL, the Ena/VASP protein, is crucial for actin polymerization at focal adhesions (FAs). Importantly, they determined that EVL-mediated FA actin polymerization regulates FA maturation and mechanosensing, which are significant steps in mechanically-directed motility and durotactic invasion. This work is a significant contribution to our understanding of how cells interact with their microenvironment in normal and pathological contexts. PMID:31594807

Dr. Vercelli's Research Mentioned in the Washington Post (September 30, 2019)
Sep 30, 2019

Work from Donata Vercelli, PhD's laboratory recently featured in the Washington Post shows that living in traditional farming environments means living in a place that is extremely rich in microbes — the right microbes that our immune system has evolved to live with and learn from. The constellation of organisms found in soil and on farm animals programs how a child responds to allergens throughout her lifetime.

Maggert Lab Publishes Heterochromatin Study in PNAS (September 16, 2019)
Sep 16, 2019

A majority of the human genome consists elements called transposable elements – the fossils of evolutionary battles between ancient viruses and their human hosts. The human genome silences these elements by creating a specialized structure called heterochromatin on top of them. Dr.

Dr. Ledford Awarded NHLBI Grant to Study the Link Between Airway Infections and Obstructive Lung Disease (September 4, 2019)
Sep 04, 2019

Asthma and COPD are the most commonly diagnosed chronic lung diseases in the United States. While it is now recognized that a percentage of severe asthmatics develop fixed airway obstruction, little is known pertaining to the basic underlying mechanisms of this progression. Dr. Ledford's research will examine the role of club cell secreted protein (CC16) in the context of airway infection as a previously overlooked link in understanding this progression.

Drs. Cress and Rogers Awarded $2.8 Million Special Initiatives Provocative Questions Grant (August 27, 2019)
Aug 27, 2019

Anne Cress, PhD, and Gregory Rogers, PhD, received the prestigious NCI Provocative Questions Initiative grant to study molecular mechanisms of genomic alterations that contribute to early stages of prostate cancer initiation and progression. As co-PIs of this multi-PI (MPI) award, they lead an investigative team that includes Drs. Noel Warfel and Ray Nagle to investigate a link between hypoxia and organelle instability.

Thorne Lab Reconciles Scientific Standoff in Colon Cancer Research (July 30, 2019)
Jul 30, 2019

Curtis Thorne, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine, and doctoral student Carly R. Cabel recently undertook an ambitious study to determine whether therapeutic targeting of LRP6 – a cell-surface receptor protein that mediates cell growth of its surrounding tissue environment - was a suitable treatment strategy for colon cancer, thus challenging the current scientific dogma and approaches to patient care. The results of Dr. Thorne and Ms. Cabel's experiments were published in a letter in the June 2019 issue of Developmental Cell.

UA Researcher and Doctoral Student Reconcile Scientific Standoff in Colon Cancer Research
Jul 30, 2019

Curtis Thorne, PhD, and UA doctoral student Carly Cabel validated findings from a 2018 collaborative study that identified a possible new therapeutic target for colon cancer – after a Harvard lab challenged the initial results.

Cress Lab Publishes in Cancer Research (July 26, 2019)
Jul 29, 2019

A major unmet clinical need is to distinguish cancer that is non-aggressive (low risk) versus those that are aggressive (high risk). Using the gene editing core service in the UA Cancer Center (led by Dr. Nathan Ellis), members of the CressLab in collaboration with two other CMM faculty (Drs. Cindy Miranti and Noel Warfel) found that tumors use a specific modification of an adhesion receptor called α6 integrin to generate invasive aggressive networks.

Joann Sweasy, PhD, Joins UA Cancer Center as Associate Director for Basic Sciences
Jun 05, 2019

Previously at Yale University, Dr. Sweasy brings expertise in basic sciences that will facilitate translational research.

Rogers Lab Publishes Study in Developmental Cell (May 28, 2019)
May 28, 2019

John Ryniawec (GPMM student), Dan Buster, PhD, Gregory Rogers, PhD and their collaborators recently published a new study in the journal Developmental Cell. They show a new mechanism linking the centrosome biogenesis machinery with the mitotic spindle orientation apparatus in Drosophila stem cells. Their work also reveals a new role for the kinase Polo-like kinase 4 in promoting centrosome disassembly.

PMAP Program Relaunches in 2019-20 with Sixth Cohort (May 21, 2019)
May 21, 2019

The Pre-Medical Admissions Pathway (P-MAP) program recently relaunched with their sixth cohort of students for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Drs. Samantha Harris and Julie Ledford Promoted (May 15, 2019)
May 15, 2019

Congratulations to Samantha Harris, PhD for her promotion to full Professor, and to Julie Ledford, PhD for her promotion to Associate Professor!

Dr. Noel Warfel receives Idea Development Award from Department of Defense (May 1, 2019)
May 01, 2019

Noel Warfel, PhD was awarded an Idea Development Award from the Department of Defense Prostate Cancer Research Program to study the role of PIM kinases in prostate cancer invasion and metastasis, as well as test new strategies to improve the treatment of patients with bone-metastatic prostate cancer.

UA Genetic Counseling Graduate Program Gains Accreditation
Apr 30, 2019

New graduate program at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson will begin in fall Semester 2019. Genetic counseling one of nation’s fastest-growing careers.

Dr. Donata Vercelli Receives Prestigious Henry and Phyllis Koffler Prize (April 16, 2019)
Apr 16, 2019

Donata Vercelli, MD - Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine - was recently awarded the Henry and Phyllis Koffler Prize in Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity for her long-standing scientific expertise and research contributions towards preventing childhood asthma.

Welcome to incoming GPMM Students (April 1, 2019)
Apr 01, 2019

The Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine is delighted to welcome the following new Molecular Medicine PhD students to our department: Hao Zhang (Cusanovich Lab) and Yaeren Hernandez (Granzier Lab). We also extend a friendly welcome to the following PhD students who will be working in labs with CMM faculty: Selina Kindelay (Genetics GIDP - Maggert Lab) and Reeba Varghese (Cancer Bio GIDP - Thorne Lab).